Google+ The Daily Jewel: DVF Announces 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees!


Friday, March 18, 2011

DVF Announces 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees!

Last night, The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) announced the nominees and honorees for the 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards at an exclusive event hosted by Nadja Swarovski and CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg at the designer’s studio in the Meatpacking District. Von Furstenberg started the proceedings by acknowledging the 10th anniversary of Swarovski underwriting the event and thanking Nadja for her continued support of American fashion. Von Furstenberg and Steven Kolb, CFDA executive director, then made the announcements of nominees and honorees, which for the first-time ever were streamed live on and
This year’s nominees reflect the depth of accomplishment of American fashion and acknowledges the pervasive influence that a new generation of talent is having on the industry while also celebrating the masters of design.
The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs.
The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Michael Bastian, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr. For Accessory Designer of the Year Award the nominees are: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff.
Swarovski Awards
Joseph Altuzarra, Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen, and Prabal Gurung have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, and Robert Geller. For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Alejandro Ingelmo, Eddie Borgo, Jason Wu, and Pamela Love. The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.
The honorary awards go to a diverse group of people. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Marc Jacobs.
The CFDA Board of Directors chose to bestow their Special Tribute on Arthur Elgort in honor of his impact on photography and fashion.
The Fashion Icon Award will go to Lady Gaga for being a fashion revolutionary impacting style today.
The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting with her reports in the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph.
The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Hal Rubenstein of In Style.
The International Award will go to Phoebe Philo for Celine for making an outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion.
“There is no other event that puts the spotlight on American fashion like The CFDA Fashion Awards,” said Steven Kolb, CFDA executive director. “We look forward to once again honoring the best and brightest talent working today. Winning a CFDA Fashion Award is the highest and one of the most coveted honors one can receive in our industry. All of this is made possible by the long-time support of Swarovski, who we are pleased to be celebrating our tenth anniversary with this year. Their support and involvement with the Awards over the years has been invaluable.”
“This year, Swarovski is honored to celebrate the 10th anniversary of our partnership with the CFDA Fashion Awards,” said Nadja Swarovski, Vice President of International Communications & Creative Director. “We are excited for each of this year’s stellar nominees; the group includes such diverse and extraordinary talent. We are particularly proud of each designer nominated for a Swarovski Award. They are the perfect example of emerging American design talent and have displayed a keen sense for the future of fashion.”
Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee, made up of the 370+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards, were confirmed yesterday at a meeting of the CFDA Board of Directors.
The final votes will be tabulated by Ernst & Young LLP, the official accounting firm of the 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards.
The 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards winners will be announced at the annual gala, generously underwritten by Swarovski, on June 6 at Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center.
Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails